Three Tigers tabbed for Inaugural Black College Football Player of the Year Watch List
    August 31, 2016

JACKSON, Miss. – With the 2016 Black College football season just one day away the Black College Football Hall of Fame (BCFHOF) announced the establishment of the Black College Football Player of the Year Award and three Jackson State Tigers have been named to the watch list.
Preseason All-Americans Javancy Jones and Markus Cook, along with All-SWAC performer Daniel Williams have been selected for the inaugural Deacon Jones Trophy – which will be presented to the most outstanding college football player from a Historically Black College & University (HBCU).
Jones led the FCS in tackles for loss with 24.5 in 2015, in addition to 91 total tackles and nine sacks. Cook was the anchor on the Tigers offensive line and Williams was one of the best wide receivers in the SWAC as he hauled in 54 passes for 802 yards and seven touchdowns.
“We’re excited about the establishment of the Award, which will honor the best football player attending a Historically Black Colleges and University,” said Super Bowl MVP quarterback Doug Williams, a BCFHOF co-founder and 2011 inductee.
The winner of the inaugural Black College Football Player of the Year Award will be announced on February 25, 2017 at the Eighth Annual Black College Football Hall of Fame Ceremony in Atlanta, Georgia.
“Players from Historically Black College and Universities have had a tremendous impact on the game of football,” said BCFHOF co-founder and 2012 inductee James Harris. “There are very few players who represent this Award better than the legendary Deacon Jones.”
Jackson State opens the 2016 season on Thursday, Sept. 1 when the Tigers take on UNLV in Las Vegas, Nevada. Kickoff is set for 7 PM (PT) / 9 pm (CT). The game can be watched free of charge at campusinsider.com.